One of the only spots in the world where there are hardly any restrictions of where to kite and when. Go wherever your heart desires. Cape Town has become one of the world's most popular kiteboarding spots. The conditions here are ideal for beginners and for advanced kiters. Depending on the wind and on your skills you can rip between Milnerton and Langebaan! The coast is ideal for downwinders. You can get started in Milnerton and pass all the good spots like Sunset, Shipwreck, Karmas, DerdeSteen and Haagkat and end up in Melkbos: about 30 km of good down-winding await you. The downwind shuttle service can take you back home.

The southeaster which blows here in the South African summer with its persistent four to seven beauforts makes Cape Town a kiters paradise. But even if the wind doesn't come up during the day you can still hope for thermal winds in the evening.

kitesurf cape town - spot guide table bay

Lagoon Beach/River Mouth

The closest spot to the city. Only suitable for kiters. The spot works at southwest to west wind on days when the South Easter is not blowing. Due to the thermal winds you will have 1-2 force more than at other spots between 12:00 to 15:00 and kite with 9-11 m2 kites by onshore wind. It can get quite selective here when the swell is high. Right at the river mouth there is a large beach area for landing and takeoff . Nevertheless, be cautious when the wind is onshore

Milnerton Lighthouse

Excellent starting point to downwind. Very clean wave but obliquely offshore wind which means that there is little wind in front but a lot when you get out. Be cautious when you take off - the beach is very gusty. Perfect wave riding in clean and long waves. The spot works about an hour earlier than Sunset Beach.

Sunset Beach

Actually a windsurfing spot. Nevertheless, it is also good for kiting here. Especially on those weak Southeaster days you can have lot's of fun. The "South Easter" sets in about an hour earlier than on the other more northerly spots and also gets stronger earlier. However, one should keep away from the windsurfers or yield to lee. Due to the beach-front buildings you may get quite gusty conditions. A good starting point for a "downwind session" up north. The beach is wide enough for launching and landing. Slightly strained parking situation during the high season.

Dolphin Beach

This spot is situated right at the Dolphin Hotel about 300 meters from the windward kite beach. Secure but little parking. Great beach for launching and landing. More laid back than at kite beach. Can get choppy when there is not much swell.

Kite Beach

As the name implies, kite beach is the central spot for riders and for kite schools. Many parking lots, many riders. Great beach for launching and landing. When the swell picks up you can get a big shorebreak with great waves. Toilet facilities are also available. Good shopping and possibilities to chow on the opposite side of the street.

Big Bay/Karmas

The kite spot is protected by two rocky outcrops. One on the windward side and one in lee. The kitesurf zone is located in Lee. One should stick to it. The best spot is in the lee of the rock on the right anyway. Here you will perfect waves when the swell is good and you do not need to pay attention to wind surfers or surfers. At high tide this spot is also ideal for freestyling as the water then becomes very glassy, flat and smooth. Rigging up is only allowed on the beach in lee. Big bay also works with west and northwesterly winds.

Derde Steen

Few people, large sandy beach with plenty of space to rig up. From small to medium-large swell you will have several peaks run here with very fast and hollow waves. Perfect for short, tight bottom turns and unhooked cutbacks.

Melkbos

15 minute drive away from Table View, there is the wide and huge Van Riebeeck beach, locally known as Melkbos. So named after the town right next to the beach. Waves run in sets. For many this is the best spot in the Bay. The wind blows exactly side shore. As the strong wind often only comes in the afternoon you have great conditions and clean waves to kite with your 9er in the mornings. Once the has pushed through you will quickly need your small sized kites (5-7 square meters). The wave will always be about a meter higher than at Sunset. The cleanest lines run at low tide.

kitesurf cape town - spot guide west coast

Langebaan Lagoon

The Langebaan Lagoon is about an hours drive from Cape Town up the west coast. There are three spots in Langebaan. A mere 5 minute drive in direction South out of the town center you will find the best beginner spot called Shark Bay – the bay is named after small flat sharks, which call the stunningly beautiful, shimmering turquoise bay their home. At low tide the water can drain completely and you will stand on dry land with your material. Rigging is not a problem, despite the very narrow beach as you can also rig on the surrounding bushland. A shorty will be just enough. The wind is gusty at times as it comes over land. There are often thermals in Langebaan, even if there is no wind in Cape Town.

The second spot called "Canal" is directly in the town center. Directly across from three nice beach front restaurants where you can park you will find a large sandy beach. However this is a swimming area and at times there are very strong currents between the beach and the island. The advantage of this spot is that you don't need to carry your gear and can go and chow : straight after kiting.

The third spot is located at "Club Mykonos" situated north of town. Actually a windsurfing spot. When the swell becomes large you can can find nice, small but clean waves here.

kitesurf cape town - spot guide cape peninsula

Platboom Beach

Platboom Beach has a large parking area directly above the beach. A lot of space to rig up. NOTE: there are rocks in the water down and upwind. To surf the super powerful wave you have to cross up 500m. Selective conditions. Only for specialists and wave freaks. By upcoming or dropping Southeaster you can still have good days here. Best wave at low tide.

Scarborough

Perfect reef break which only works from about 3,5 metres. Entry very tricky because as the wind is very gusty and offshore. The wind is ok on the outside. The bigger the wave the better the spot.

Witsands

Super spot with a beautiful beach, good launching and landing area. With westerly winds and big waves this spot is a dream. Through the slightly offshore winds and the rocks downwind this spot is not for beginners.

Muizenberg

"The" spot when the Southeaster doesn't push through in Blouberg properly. Onshore, mostly smaller waves. Plenty of space for launching and landing. Warm water.

Strand

Situated on the east side of False Bay opposite Muizenberg. Can be quite nice when the Southeaster is blowing. Warm water.

Einer der wenigen Orte auf der Welt, an denen es kaum Einschränkungen gibt, wo und wann man Kitesurfen kann. Kite woimmer Dein Herz begehrt. Kapstadt ist zu einem der beliebtesten Kitesurfspots der Welt geworden. Die Bedingungen hier sind ideal für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene. Abhängig vom Wind und Deinem Können kannst Du zwischen Milnerton und Langebaan rippen! Die Küste ist ideal für Downwinder. Du kannst in Milnerton loslegen und an all den guten Spots wie Sunset, Shipwreck, Karmas, DerdeSteen und Haagkat vorbeikommen, bis Du in Melkbos ankommst: Etwa 30 km gute Downwinds erwarten Dich. Der Downwind-Shuttleservice bringt Dich nach Hause.

Die Südostküste, die hier im südafrikanischen Sommer mit ihren anhaltenden vier bis sieben Beauforts weht, macht Kapstadt zu einem Kiterparadies. Aber auch wenn der Wind tagsüber nicht aufgeht, kann man abends auf thermische Winde hoffen.

Kitesurfen Spotguide - Kapstadt Table Bay

Lagoon Beach/River Mouth

Der am nächsten zur Stadt gelegene Spot. Ausschliesslich für Kiter geeignet. Der Spot funktioniert bei Südwest- bis West-Wind an Tagen an denen der Southeaster nicht bläst. Durch die lokale Thermik hat man hier mittags zwischen 12.00-15.00 1-2 Windstärken mehr als an den anderen Spots, sodass man mit mit 9-11qm Schirmen bei auflandigem Wind kiten kann. Bei hohem Swell kann es hier selektiv werden. Direkt am River Mouth große Strand Fläche zum Landen und Starten. Trotzdem muss man bei dem auflandigen Wind aufpassen.

Milnerton Leuchtturm

Idealer Startpunkt zum Downwinden. Cleane Welle aber sehr schräg ablandiger Wind – das heisst – dadurch vorne wenig, draussen viel. Achtung beim Starten – der Strand ist sehr böig. Perfektes Wellenabreiten in cleanen und langlaufenden Wellen. Der Spot funktioniert jeweils etwa eine Stunde früher als Sunset Beach.

Sunset Beach

Eigentlich ein Windsurfspot. Trotzdem kann man hier auch sehr gut kiten. Vor allem an schwachen Southeaster Tagen kann man als Kiter hier seinen Spaß haben. Am Sunset setzt der "Southeaster" immer früher ein, als an den anderen, weiter nördlich gelegenen Spots und wird auch früher stärker. Man sollte sich jedoch von den Windsurfern fernhalten oder nach Lee ausweichen. Teilweise sehr böiger Wind durch die strandnahe Bebauung. Guter Startpunkt zum "Downwinder" nach Norden. Der Strand ist breit genug zum Starten und Landen. In der Hochsaison jedoch angespannte Parkplatzsituation.

Dolphin Beach

Direkt am Dolphin Hotel gelegener Spot, etwa 300m in Luv vom Kitebeach. Sicheres Parken, wenige Parkplätze. Super Strand zum Starten und Landen. Etwas gemütlicher als am Kitebeach. Bei fehlendem Swell teilweise kabbelig.

Kite Beach

Wie der Name schon sagt, ist der Kitebeach der zentrale Spot für Kiter sowie für Kiteschulen. Viele Parkplätze, viele Kiter. Großer Strand zum Starten und Landen. Bei Swell teilweise großer Shorebreak mit super Wellen. Sanitäre Anlagen sind ebenfalls vorhanden. Gute Einkaufs- und Verpflegungsmöglichkeiten direkt auf der anderen Straßenseite. Nachdem 2013 / 2014 der Red Bull King of the Air am Big Bay ausgetragen wurde findet seit 2015 der Contest am  Kite Beach statt.

Big Bay/Karmas

Der Kitespot ist durch eine kleine Felshalbinsel in Luv, eine vorgelagerte Insel und Felsen in Lee (bei Southeaster) geschützt. In BigBay gibt es eine Kitesurfzone. Diese befindet sich in Lee. Man sollte sich daran halten. Der beste Spot befindet sich sowieso im Lee der Felsen rechts. Hier hat man bei Swell traumhafte Wellen und muß nicht auf Windsurfer und Wellenreiter achten. Bei Hochwasser eignet sich dieser Spot auch zum Freestylen da das Wasser dann sehr flach und sehr glatt ist. Das Aufbauen ist nur am Strand in Lee erlaubt. BigBay funktioniert auch bei West und

Derde Steen

Grosser Sandstrand, viel Platz zum Aufbauen und wenig Leute. Bei kleinem bis mittelgroßem Swell laufen hier mehrere Peaks mit einer ausgesprochen schnellen und hohlen Linkswelle. Super für kurze, enge Bottom-Turns und unhooked Cutbacks.

Melkbos

15 Autominuten von Tableview entfernt liegt der breite, flach auslaufende Van Riebeeckstrand der von den meisten Surfern einfach "Melkbos" (nach dem gleichnamigen Ort) genannt wird.
Die Wellen laufen in mehreren Sets. Für viele ist das der beste Spot in der Tafel-Bucht. Der Wind kommt exakt sideshore. Dadurch dass der starke Wind oft erst gegen Nachmittag kommt hat man hier morgens mit seinem 9er super cleane Wellen. Wenn der Wind einmal durchgezogen ist braucht man schnell die kleinen Grössen (5-7 qm). Die Welle hat immer einen Meter mehr als am Sunset. Die saubersten Lines laufen bei Niedrigwasser.

Kitesurfen Spotguide - Kapstadt West Coast

Langebaan Lagoon

Die Langebaan-Lagoon liegt etwa eine Stunde Autofahrt nördlich von Kapstadt. In Langebaan gibt es drei Spots. Mit dem Auto 5 Minuten südich des Ortskerns liegt der Anfängerspot Shark-Bay, benannt nach kleinen flachen Haien, die sich in der traumhaft schönen, türkis schimmernden Bucht befinden. Bei Ebbe kann das Wasser aber komplett ablaufen und man steht auf dem Trockenen. Starten und Landen ist trotz des nur sehr schmalen Strandes auf dem dahinter liegenden Buschland kein Problem. Ein Shorty reicht vollkommen. Der Wind ist manchmal boeig, da er immer über Land kommt. In Langebaan gibt es häufig Thermik, auch wenn in Kapstadt nichts geht.


Direkt im Ortskern liegt der zweite Spot genannt "Canal". Ein großer Sandstrand direkt gegenüber von drei netten Strandrestaurants vor denen man auch parken kann. Es gibt hier jedoch eine Badezone und zum Teil starke Strömung zwischen dem Strand und der Insel. Der Vorteil dieses Spots ist: man muß nicht tragen und kann nach dem Surfen direkt essen gehen.
Der dritte Spot liegt im "Club Mykonos". Eigentlich ein Windsurfspot. Bei sehr großem Swell gibt es hier jedoch sehr schöne, klein aber saubere Wellen.

Kitesurfen Spotguide - Kapstadt Cape Peninsula

Platboom Beach

Platboom Beach hat einen grossen Parkplatz direkt oberhalb des Strandes. Hier wird viel Platz geboten zum Aufbauen. ACHTUNG: Down- sowie Upwind hat es Felsen im Wasser. Um die superkräftige Welle zu surfen müsst ihr ca. 500m hochkreuzen. Selektive Bedingungen. Nur etwas für Spezialisten und Wavefreaks. Man kann hier bei beginnendem und nachlassendem Southeaster noch gute Tage haben. Beste Welle bei Lowtide.

Scarborough

Perfekter Reefbreak läuft erst ab 3½ Meter. Einstieg sehr tricky da am Strand der Wind sehr ablandig und boeig ist. Draussen ist der Wind ok. Je grösser die Welle desto besser funktioniert der Spot.

Witsands

Super Spot mit schönem Strand, gute Start- und Landearea. Bei Nordwestwind und z.T. grossen Wellen ein Traumspot. Durch den leicht ablandingen Wind und die vielen Felsen downwind ist dieser Spot nicht für Anfänger geeignet.

Muizenberg

Der Spot wenn sich der Southeaster in der Blouberg-Bucht noch nicht richtig durchgesetzt hat. Auflandig, meistens kleinere Wellen. Viel Platz zum Starten und Landen. Schönes warmes Wasser. Hier kann man mit Shorty fahren.

Strand

An der Ostseite der False Bay, also gegenüber von Muizenberg, gelegen. Bei Southeaster kann es hier auch ganz nett sein. Warmes Wasser.