Wave riding in Cape Town is the dream of many surfers. We promise you an extremely relaxing holiday with us in the CAPE SURF HOSTEL. The South African lifestyle also reflects on the water. The atmosphere is tolerant and relaxed. There are enough waves for everyone.

Cape Town with its unique location between two oceans, the Atlantic and the Indian, gives you a variety of different surf spots and waves. Whether you're on a short- or longboard, beginner or expert, everyone will find "his" surf.

Even trips to world-famous spots like Jeffreys- or Elandsbay can be done from Cape Town. So you can rip the cleanest waves and reef breaks that can be found in the world and simultaneously learn about the South African way of living and loving the surf: the daily swell report can be heard on the radio in the early mornings, the detergent is called SURF and after school, the parents take their kids to the beach!

Surfboards from South Africa are among the best in the world and can be bought from the local shapers at unbeatable prices!

Those who would like try out surfing can borrow a board from us.

surf cape town - spot guide table bay

The Wedge

Coming from Cape Town "The Wedge" is the first spot along the endless beach which stretches as far as Table View. The waves flow around a harbor wall and unite with the waves running further down the bay. Can break very hollow but offers some excellent barrels!

Milnerton

The further you go into Table Bay the smaller the waves as the swell in Cape Town has to run around the bay. In light South-Easter or offshore winds you occasionally get a very clean and small wave! Perfect for longboarding, but you can also rip the wave with a shortboard.

Milnerton Lighthouse

This spot is pretty far into Table Bay. Therefore, the wave is always smaller than at Sunset Beach. The wind is side-offshore. The mostly small wave is clean and does not break as fast as at Sunset. Ideal for wave beginners!

Dolphin Beach

Dolphin Beach is the spot to the right of Dolphin Beach Hotel, located on the coast road just before Tableview. Depending on the sandbanks, you can find clean waves. The biggest advantage: as long as there is no wind it is very empty.

Shipwreck

The Seli which stranded here in 2009 changed this part of the ocean so much that a good right and left wave developed. Works best at low tide.

Blouberg Beach

Blouberg Beach has a very long beach. Just in front of the restaurant "Doodles" you will find a rocky reef which is situated a bit offshore. In case the swell gets bigger and there is no wind or just a slight southeaster or offshore wind this spot can build up perfect long rides. You will also find that the small swell gives a good beachbreak. Just watch the spot closely as the breaks always change depending on the position of the sandbanks.

Big Bay

Being the most surfed spot in the Table Bay it becomes very crowded here on weekends – both on the beach and in the water. Unfortunately Big Bay does not work very often. But when the swell gets huge and the other spots get out of control you will be able to ride a long shoulder here which runs far from the outside to the inner left bay. But also on small days you can occasionally catch a good wave. The great thing about Big Bay is that it is framed by two rocky outcrops which make you feel safe.

Karmas

This spot is on the right side of Big Bay. If all the factors match, you will find a clean, long left wave here with really good sections. Works at low tide and no wind or light South Easter.

Horse Trail

"Horse Trail" is also located on the right hand side of Big Bay between Karma and "Eerste Steen". Here you can find some hollow beach breaks and the spot is surfable to the left and the right. Horse Trail is usually better than one would expect from the beach and works with every tide.

Derde Steen

Derde Steen is probably the best spot in the Bay and also our favorite. In small to head high waves it creates different peaks with a fast and hollow left that can be great for tube rides. The right is rather short, but still powerful…When there is a swell, waves break more to the outside, creating perfect A-frame peaks which are impressive in size.

surf cape town - spot guide cape peninsula

Thermo's

The spot is a point break right in the City Bowl at Moullie Point. The waves break at the shipwreck "Thermopylae" and then wrap around a nice reef. Due to it's facing north, this spot only works in big swell. The only spot in Table Bay that works with Southwesterly winds. At all other spots the south-west wind is onshore.

Rocklands

In big swell there is a left on an outside reef.

Queens

Queens is the most southerly city spot. Waves break as a lefthander and works best in rising tide and big swell.

Glen Beach

Glen Beach is a surf spot on Camps Bay Beach with a strong lefthander.

Llandudno

Llandudno is probably the best and most popular city break and is situated in a picturesque bay, nestled between massive rocks. On the right hand side of the bay there is a peak named Gat depending on the sandbars. Gat has a fat lip and breaks hollow and is powerful: take off straight into the barrell. In small swell the shorebreak forms a fast, hollow right in the middle of the bay and a left in the left of the bay. Llandudno is protected from the south east wind and is a great experience because of its location - even for non-surfers. Water temperature can drop under 10 degrees in summer.

 

Sandy Beach

Sandy Beach is a 20-minute walk away from Llandudno - is very empty - and also works frequently when Llandudno breaks close-out. In general there are rather short lefts, but sometimes perfect barrels .... nude beach.

 

Hout Bay

Small, short waves. Rather drive past and check out Long Beach.

 

Dungeons

Dungeons is the big wave spot where the winter annual Red Bull Big Wave Africa contest is held. You need a boat and sufficient lung volume as the wave is on a reef far out and only works from 8 '+ up. In 2007, the world's biggest wave of the year broke here with a height of approx. 70 feet.

The Hoek

The Hoek is located directly beneath the spectacular Chapmanspeak drive. The waves seem to literally pile up at the outside reef and if everything falls into place, you can run picture-perfect barrels. The Hoek also works with South Easter.

Noordhoek Beach

Noordhoek Beach is the long beach that stretches from Chapmanspeak to Kommetjie. There are several peaks of varying quality: some break close to perfect!

Dunes

Dunes is still a little secret spot despite a number of contests held here. You walk about 20-30 minutes along Noordhoek Beach. At the left end of the beach you will find the spot. It is so deep in the bay, that the wave has to turn almost 180 degrees before it breaks as an awesome left barrel and finally closes out in the shorebreak. Best in light southeasterly winds.

Sunset Reef

Sunset is what the reef left off Long Beach is called. Huge waves break regularly and this is the place where the local big wave riders practice. Tow-in surfing spot where nothing happens without a boat!

Long Beach

Long Beach is an extremely popular spot and often gets crowded on weekends. Waves turn around on the kelp covered reef, break on the inside, creating nice and long rides. The spot is good for any moves. Even inexperienced surfers will enjoy surfing here. In the beachbreak you can get a small glimpse of the green room, before it slams on to you. Long Beach is one of the few spots along this coast which work with south-westerly winds. The South Easter, however is perfect as long as it doesn't blow too strong!

Boneyards

Boneyards is the first spot on the outer reef of Kommetije. You will see it from the coast road but do not underestimate its size! Boneyards works in 6 feet up and can get a lot bigger. You take-off is located in the kelp. The left is short, but awesome!

Inner Kom

Small pointbreak in the middle of kelp and never bigger than 3' but fast and powerful!

Outer Kom

Legendary big wave spot on the outer reef. The Point-/Reef-Break is powerful and runs over the kelp. In offshore winds and with huge swell it creates gigantic waves of best quality! Caution: reef and kelp!

Crayfish Factory

The Crayfish Factory is the most surfed and most legendary big wave spot of Cape Town! Directly in front of the Crayfish Factory righthanders break from 8 feet over the kelp-covered reef. Waves at the factory can get as big as 15 feet, throwing a huge and powerful lip which falls right into the valley with tremendous force. The wave has an incredible suction! When taking off it can happen that the water underneath you suddenly gets sucked away and you fall off of the lip. . all the way. . . with full force into the kelp! The whole set will fall on your head and when you get back to the surface, you're back in the channel. If you manage the drop, you will be rewarded with a first-class ride in front of a scary wall of water!

Witsands

The sandbanks in front of Witsands are very shifty. However there is usually a small wave running. In strong north west winds or small swell it may be the only spot working.

Misty Cliffs

Misty Cliffs lies between Kommetjie and Scarborough. The sandbanks get hit by plenty of swell. It is good in small to head high, clean swell.

Scarborough Beach

There are actually two breaks here. One above the right edge of the rocky cove and one on the inside. The powerful rides run to the right.

surf cape town - spot guide west coast

Dunkin

Long left hand point break. Only works with large winter swell!

Garbage Dumps

At this spot, there are actually two waves: a slow right-hand point break with a steep, long face and a lefthander. This requires big swell and ends right on the rocky reef. Seaweed and kelp make this place a little scary.

Elandsbaai

Elands Bay is a world class spot and South Africa's best lefthander: this is J-Bay of the west coast! The swell is wrapped around a rocky, kelp overgrown point and runs and runs and runs. The stronger the offshore wind, the faster the wave! The take-off is steep. The first section requires a lot of speed! But you can also get in the water 20-30m down-the-line and enjoy the inside all the way to the beach.

Heaven and Hell

Is a spot with 2 waves: Heaven and Hell. Hell is a wild left point and forms a small wave when the swell is huge. Heaven is a righthander which runs at least 80m and has a prime tube section. Runs only from 6 feet! Caution: Fat Lip!

Yzerfontein

In off shore or calm winds there is occasionally a long wave. Depending on the sandbars the wave is slow, fast, hollow or sometimes even close-out.

Schaap Eiland

This spot is right next to Yzerfontein. Sometimes very chaotic and much paddling, but pick's up heaps of swell!

Kreefte Reef

In head-high swell and low tide a short but steep and powerful wave breaks here.

Wellen surfen in Kapstadt ist der Traum vieler Surfer. Wir versprechen Euch einen extrem relaxten Urlaub bei uns im Cape Surf Hostel. Auch auf dem Wasser ist das für Südafrikaner typische Relaxed-Sein zu spüren! Es gibt genug Wellen für alle ...


Kapstadt bietet mit seiner einmaligen Lage an zwei Ozeanen, dem Atlantischen und dem Indischen, eine Vielzahl von Surfspots und unterschiedlichen Wellen. Egal ob Longboard oder Shortboard, Anfänger oder Profi, jeder wird "seinen" Break zum Wellenreiten finden.

Unter der Rubrik Spots findet Ihr eine ausführliche Beschreibung zu den angesagten Breaks in und um Capetown.

Auch Trips an weltbekannte Spots wie Jeffreys- oder Elandsbay sind von Kapstadt aus kein Problem. So könnt Ihr in den saubersten Point- und Riffbreaks die man auf der Welt finden kann rippen und gleichzeitig miterleben, wie die Südafrikaner Surfen leben.

 

Im Radio kommt täglich früh morgens der Swellreport, das Waschmittel heisst SURF und nach der Schule fahren die Eltern Ihre Kids zum Strand!!

Surfboards aus Südafrika gehören zu den Besten der Welt und sind bei den lokalen Shapern konkurrenzlos günstig!!

Wer es erst mal testen will kann bei uns einen Wellenreiter ausleihen.

Wellenreiten Spotguide - Kapstadt Table Bay

The Wedge

"The Wedge" ist von Kapstadt aus der erste Spot entlang des endlosen Strands der bis nach Tableview reicht. Die Wellen drehen um eine Hafenmauer und vereinen sich mit den Wellen die weiter unten in der Bucht laufen. Kann sehr hohl brechen und bietet teilweise erstklassige Barrels!

Milnerton

Je weiter man in die Tafelbucht kommt desto kleiner werden die Wellen, da der Swell um Kapstadt herum in die Bucht laufen muss. Bei leichtem South-Easter oder ablandigem Wind läuft hier gelegentlich eine sehr saubere und kleine Welle! Perfekt zum Longboarden, doch mit einem Shortboard lässt sich die Welle gut zerschlitzen!

Milnerton Lighthouse

Dieser Spot liegt ziemlich weit im Innern der Tafelbucht. Daher ist die Welle hier immer kleiner als am Sunset. Der Wind kommt schräg ablandig. Die meist kleine Welle ist clean und bricht nicht so schnell wie am Sunset. Ideal für Waveeinsteiger!

Dolphin Beach

"Dolphin Beach" ist der Spot rechts vom Dolphin Beach Hotel, das sich an der Küstenstrasse direkt vor dem Ortsschild Tableview befindet. Je nachdem wie die Sandbänke sind, kann man hier saubere Wellen finden. Der größte Vorteil: es ist sehr leer solange es keinen Wind hat.

Shipwreck

Durch die gestrandete Seli in 2009 hat sich hier eine gute Welle rechts wie links entwickelt. Funktioniert am besten bei Lowtide. 

Blouberg Beach

Tableview hat einen sehr langen Strand. Direkt vor dem Restaurant "Doodles" ist ein steiniges Riff vorgelagert. Bei größerem Swell kann sich die Welle bei Windstille, leichtem Southeaster oder ablandigem Wind zu perfekten und erstaunlich langen Rides formen. Ein kleinerer Swell bricht als Beachbreak. Ansonsten einfach schauen, da je nach Lage der Sandbänke die Breaks unterschiedlich sind!

Big Bay

Die "Big Bay" ist der meistgesurfte Spot in der ganzen Tafelbucht. Besonders am Wochenende ist hier sowohl am Strand, als auch im Wasser die Hölle los. Leider funktioniert die Big Bay nicht besonders oft. Bei richtig großem Swell, wenn die anderen Spots "out of control" sind, rechen hier weit draußen runde Monster mit einer langen Schulter, die sich bis in die linke vordere Ecke der Bucht abreiten lassen! Aber auch bei kleinen Wellen kann man hier mal gute Rides bekommen.
Das Schönste an der Big Bay ist, dass sie von zwei Felspartien eingerahmt ist und man sich sehr wohl fühlt.

Karmas

Dieser Spot ist in der Bucht auf der rechten Seite der Big Bay. Wenn alle Faktoren stimmen läuft hier eine saubere, lange Linkswelle, mit echt guten Sections. Funktioniert bei Ebbe und Windstille oder leichtem Southeaster.

Horse Trail

"Horse Trail" befindet sich ebenfalls rechts der Big Bay zwischen Karmas und "Erste Steen". Dort könnt Ihr einige hohle Beachbreaks finden und der Spot ist nach links und rechts surfbar.
Horse Trail ist meistens besser als man es vom Strand aus vermuten würde und der Spot funktioniert bei jedem Tidenstand.

Derde Steen

"Derde Steen" ist wohl der beste Spot in der Tafelbucht und außerdem unser Lieblingsspot. Bei kleinem bis mittelgroßem Swell laufen hier mehrere Peaks mit einer ausgesprochen schnellen und hohlen Linkswelle, die ganz exzellente Tuberides bieten kann. Die Rechte ist zwar sehr kurz, aber auch sehr kraftvoll . . . Bei Swell brechen weit draußen perfekte A-Frame-Peaks von beachtlicher Größe.

Wellenreiten Spotguide - Kapstadt Cape Peninsula

Thermo's

Der Spot ist ein Pointbreak direkt in der City Bowl bei Moullie Point. Die Wellen brechen sich an den Überbleibseln des versunkenen Schiffs "Thermopylae" und laufen dann an einem Riff entlang. Aufgrund der Nordausrichtung läuft dieser Spot nur bei grossem Swell. Der einzige Spot in der Table Bay der bei Südwestwind funktionert. An allen anderen Spots ist der Südwestwind auflandig.

Rocklands

Bei großem Swell bricht hier eine Linkswelle über ein vorgelagertes Riff.

Queens

"Queens" ist der südlichste Stadtspot. Die Welle bricht als Linkshänder und funktioniert am besten bei auflaufendem Wasser und großem Swell.

Glen Beach

"Glen Beach" ist ein Surfspot am Camps Bay Beach mit kräftiger Linkswelle.

Llandudno

"Llandudno" ist heute wohl der beste und beliebteste Citybreak und liegt in einer malerischen Bucht, eingebettet zwischen massiven Felsen. Ganz rechts in der Bucht gibt es, je nach Lage der Sandbänke, einen Peak namens Gat. Gat hat eine ordentlich fette Lippe und bricht hohl und powervoll: take off straight into the barrell. Bei kleinerem Swell formt der Shorebreak in der Mitte der Bucht eine schnelle, hohle Rechtswelle und links in der Bucht einen Lefthander. Llandudno ist vom Southeaster abgeschirmt und ist aufgrund seiner Lage auch für Nichtsurfer ein Erlebnis. Die Wassertemperatur liegt hier im Sommer gerne bei ca. 11 Grad.

 

Sandy Beach

"Sandy Beach" liegt einen 20-minütigen Fußmarsch von Llandudno entfernt – ist daher sehr leer - und funktioniert auch häufig wenn Llandudno close-out bricht. In der Regel gibt es dort eher kurze Linkswellen, manchmal aber auch lupenreine Barrels.... FKK-Strand für Männer.

 

Hout Bay

Small, short waves. Lieber dran vorbeifahren und Long Beach abchecken!

 

Dungeons

"Dungeons" ist der Big Wave Spot an dem im Winter jährlich der Red Bull Big Wave Africa Contest ausgetragen wird. Man braucht allerdings ein Boot und ausreichend Lungenvolumen, da die Welle über einem (weit) vorgelagerten Riff und erst ab 8'+ bricht. Hier brach 2007 die weltweit grösste Welle des Jahres mit über 70 Fuss.
 

The Hoek

"The Hoek" liegt direkt unter dem spektakulären Chapmanspeakdrive. Die Wellen scheinen sich an dem vorgelagerten Riff regelrecht aufzutürmen und wenn alles zusammenpasst, können hier Bilderbuch-Barrels laufen. The Hoek funktioniert auch bei Southeaster.
 

Noordhoek Beach

"Nordhoek Beach" ist der lange Strand, der sich vom Chapmanspeak bis nach Kommetjie erstreckt. Es gibt etliche Peaks unterschiedlichster Qualität: einige brechen annähernd perfekt!

Dunes

"Dunes" ist ein 1a Sahnespot, der trotz etlicher Contests immer noch ein kleiner Geheimtipp ist! Man läuft etwa 20-30 Minuten den Nordhoek Beach entlang und am linken Ende des Strands bricht Dunes. Der Spot ist so weit im Inneren der Bucht, dass die Welle sich fast um 180 Grad gewunden hat, bevor sie als erstklassige (Links)Barrel bricht und im Shorebreak als gewaltiger Close-Out endet. Am besten bei leichtem Southeast!

Sunset Reef

"Sunset" nennt sich das Riff links vor Long Beach. Regelmäßig brechen hier fetteste Wellen und die Local Big Wave Rider praktizieren hier regelmäßig Tow-In-Surfing. Ohne Boot läuft hier gar nix!

Long Beach

"Long Beach" ist ein extrem populärer und am Wochenende oft überfüllter Spot. Die Wellen drehen um das vorgelagerte, mit Kelp bewachsene Riff, brechen auf der Innenseite und liefern lange, erstklassige Rides. Der Spot ist gut für jede Art von Mannövern. Auch ungeübte Surfer kommen hier auf ihre Kosten. Es gibt mehrere Peaks, die Linke ist meistens länger. Im hohlen Beachbreak kann man ganz easy einen kleinen Eindruck vom Green Room erhaschen, bevor er über einem zusammenkracht! "Long Beach" ist einer der wenigen Spots entlang dieser Küste, die bei südwestlichen Winden funktionieren. Der Southeaster hingegen ist perfekt, wenn er nicht zu heftig bläst!

Boneyards

"Boneyards" ist der erste Spot am Outer Reef von Kommetije. Man sieht den Spot von der Küstenstrasse aus. Vertut euch nicht mit der Größe! Boneyards funktioniert ab 6 Fuss und kann oft auch wesentlich größer sein. Der Take-Off erfolgt mitten im Kelp. Die Linke ist kurz, aber awesome!!!

Inner Kom

Kleiner Pointbreak, mitten im Kelp. Nie größer als 3 Fuss aber schnell und kraftvoll!

Outer Kom

Legendärer Big Wave Spot am äußeren Riff. Der Point-/Reef-Break ist powervoll und läuft über dem Kelp. Bei ablandigem Wind und einem riesigen Swell gibt es gigantische Wellen bester Qualität!!! Achtung: Riff und Kelp!

Crayfish Factory

Die "Crayfish Factory" ist der wohl meistgesurfte und sagenumwobenste Big Wave Spot Kapstadts! Direkt vor der alten Crayfish Factory brechen ab 8 Fuß Righthander über das mit Kelp bewachsene Riff. Die Wellen können an der "Factory" bis 15 Fuß groß werden und mit enormer Gewalt eine gigantische Lippe vor sich ins Tal stürzen. Die Welle hat einen unglaublichen Sog! Beim Anpaddeln kann es passieren, dass unter einem urplötzlich das Wasser wegsaugt. Dann fällt man beim Take-Off von der Lippe . . . all the way. . .und wird, wenn man´s verpatzt mit voller Wucht ins Kelp geschleudert! Dann gibt es das ganze Set auf die Mütze und wenn man zurück an die Oberfläche gelangt, ist man wieder im Channel.
Schafft man den Drop, gibt´s einen erstklassigen Ritt vor einer angsteinflößenden Wasserwand zur Belohnung!

Witsands

Über den sich ständig ändernden Sandbänken von Witsands läuft eigentlich immer eine kleine Welle. Bei starkem Nordwest oder kleinem Swell kann es schon mal der einzige Spot sein der funktioniert.

Misty Cliffs

Zwischen Kommetjie und Scarborough liegt Misty Cliffs. Die dortigen Sandbänke bekommen jede Menge Swell ab. Bei kleinem bis mittelgroßem, cleanen Swell sehr gut.

Scarborough Beach

Hier gibt es eigentlich zwei Breaks, einen über dem steinigen rechten Rand der Bucht und einen im Innern. Die Rides laufen nach rechts und sind kraftvoll.

Wellenreiten Spotguide - Kapstadt West Coast

Dunkin

Long Lefthand Pointbreak! Funktioniert nur bei großem Winterswell!

Garbage Dumps

An diesem Spot gibt es eigentlich 2 Wellen: ein langsamer rechter Pointbreak mit einem steilen, langen Face und eine Linkswelle. Diese benötigt großen Swell und endet direkt auf dem steinigen Riff. Seegras und Kelp machen den Spot ein wenig unheimlich.

Elandsbaai

"Elands Bay"ist ein Weltklasse Spot und Südafrikas beste Linkswelle: J-Bay der Westküste! Der Swell windet sich um einen felsigen, kelpbewachsenen Point und läuft und läuft und läuft. . ..! ! ! Je stärker der ablandige Wind, desto schneller die Welle! Der Take-Off ist steil. Die erste Section erfordert viel Speed! Man kann aber auch 20-30m Down-the-Line einsteigen und die Inside all the way to the beach genießen.

 

Heaven and Hell

Ist ein Spot mit 2 Wellen: Heaven und Hell. Hell ist ein Linkspoint, ist wild und bildet bei riesigem Swell eine kleine Welle. Heaven ist eine Rechtswelle die mindestens 80m läuft und eine erstklassige Tubesection hat. Funktioniert erst ab 6 Fuss! Achtung: Fette Lippe!

Yzerfontein

Bei ablandigem Wind oder Windstille läuft hier gelegentlich eine lange Welle - je nachdem wie die Sandbänke sind, langsam, schnell, hohl und leider manchmal auch close-out.

Schaap Eiland

Dieser Spot ist direkt neben Yzerfontein. Manchmal sehr chaotisch und viel Paddelei. but: Pick´s up heaps of Swell!

Kreefte Reef

Bei mittelgroßem Swell und Ebbe kann hier eine kurze, aber steile und kräftige Rechtswelle brechen.